
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

JAN 29 2015 
In Reply Refer to: 
BSS: D030823 

 
Mr. Matthew Damos 
2655 Knolls Drive 
Santa Rosa, CA 95405 
 
Dear Mr. Damos: 
 
REVOCATION OF WATER RIGHT CERTIFICATE D422 (APPLICATION D030823), 
UNNAMED STREAM IN SONOMA COUNTY 
 
For reference purposes, please note that your certificate number has officially changed from 
R422 to D422 to conform with new numbering practices. 
 
Pursuant to Water Code section 1228.5, subdivision (d), Water Right Certificate D422 has been 
revoked for failure to renew the registration or pay the renewal fee.  This is a final action not 
subject to reconsideration by the State Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board). 
 
It is your responsibility to remove or modify diversion works and impoundments to ensure that 
water subject to this revocation is not diverted and used.  Unauthorized diversion and use of 
water is considered a trespass and subject to enforcement action under Water Code sections 
1052 and 1831.  Pursuant to Water Code section 1052, any diversion of water from the points of 
diversion identified in this water right certificate may be subject to administrative civil liability of 
up to $500 per day without further notice.  The State Water Board also may issue a cease and 
desist order in response to an unauthorized diversion or threatened unauthorized diversion 
pursuant to Water Code section 1831. 
 
Before initiating any work in a stream channel, you should consult with the California 
Department of Fish and Wildlife and the Regional Water Quality Control Board to ensure that 
removal of project facilities does not adversely affect a fishery or result in unregulated sediment 
discharge to a waterway.  You must also consult the Department of Water Resources, Division 
of Safety of Dams if a jurisdictional size dam will be removed or breached (dam height 15 feet or 
more, or reservoir volume 50 acre-feet or more).  These agencies may require a permit or other 
approval prior to any construction activity. 
 
Some diverters claim rights to divert independent of a permit, license, registration or certification 
issued by the State Water Board, such as diversions under riparian or pre-1914 rights.  With 
limited exceptions, Water Code section 5101 requires that a Statement of Water Diversion and 
Use be filed for these diversions.  Water Code section 5107 (c)(1) provides that the State Water 
Board may impose a civil liability of $1,000, plus $500 per day for each additional day on which 
the violation continues if the person fails to file a statement within 30 days after the board has 
called the violation to the attention of that person.  These penalties are in addition to any 
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penalties that may be imposed if the diverter does not hold a valid right or diverts in excess of 
what is authorized under that right.  This letter serves as your notice of the statement 
requirement and potential penalty. 
 
If you require further assistance, please contact Bryan Stedman at (916) 322-9632.  Written 
correspondence or inquiries should be addressed as follows: State Water Resources Control 
Board, Division of Water Rights, Attn: Bryan Stedman, P.O. Box 2000, Sacramento, CA, 
95812-2000. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
ORIGINAL SIGNED BY:  
 
Katy Lee, Senior 
Russian River Watershed Unit 
Division of Water Rights 
 
 
Enclosure 
 
 
cc: Angie Damos Duerloo 

P.O. Box 113 
Guerneville, CA 95446 

 
 California Department of Fish and Wildlife 
 Bay Delta Region 
 c/o Ms. Corinne Gray 
 7329 Silverado Trail 
 Napa, CA 94558 
 
 
 
ec: katherine.lee@waterboards.ca.gov, kathy.mrowka@waterboards.ca.gov 
 
 



STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD 

DIVISION OF WATER RIGHTS 

 
 
 

SMALL DOMESTIC USE REGISTRATION 
 
 

RENEWAL ORDER FOR CERTIFICATE NO. R422 

 
 
 
Application D030823R of Angie Damos Deurloo and Sharon Damos, was filed with the State 
Water Resources Control Board (State Water Board) on December 10, 1998. The State Water 
Board issued Certificate No. R422 on Mach 15, 1999.  A subsequent renewal was issued on 
May 26, 2004.   
 
The subject appropriation meets the requirements for renewal specified in section 1228.5 of 
chapter 1, part 2, division 2 of the Water Code, and is hereby renewed for the next incremental 
five-year period to December 9, 2013, based on the above-stated date of first filing the 
completed registration. 
 
The renewed appropriation is subject to the conditions of the original certificate and any 
previous amendments.   
 
 
Original Signed by: KDM for 
 
Victoria A. Whitney, Chief  
Division of Water Rights  
 
Dated: January 9, 2008 
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